Strap/chain procedure

Spindrift

Reaction score
I have very little experience hauling cars and/or trucks. I need to put my Excursion on my flat deck, dual axle, tagalong. Any advice as far as chaining and whatnot?

SSpeeDEMONSS

Reaction score
I remember seeing a picture on pirate a few years ago about 8 total straps being used. 2 per axle(front and rear) then the other 4 for the frame. 2 front 2 rear. Though all the trucks and vehicles I have hauled I have just used 4 straps or chains, one on each corner on the axles/suspension.

I'm sure more experienced will chime in.

Garrett

encrypted with an enigma machine

cfdeng7

Reaction score
Your going to get a lot of different answers here as everyone has their own personal prefrence. I prefer to chain to the axles with ratchet binders or with 10k ratchet straps. When I haul my buddies jeep (6 feet of suspension articulation) I also throw 2 straps on the frame to keep body roll down but on a pickup I don't think its needed. Best advice I can give you, is use common sense. Nobody ever got hurt from straping something too well. 2 straps front and rear and you will be just fine man.

Ad8 PRODIGY

Reaction score
Anyone remember where we had a discussion on this a few weeks ago?

TrailerHauler is gonna be your resident expert here. Dude know his sh!t

amarillo250

Reaction score
cross the strapps and make sure to keep the body movement as little as you can. Best way to go is if you have tow hooks on the truck or the go around the axle.

B.Warning

Reaction score
It doesn't take a expert to answer the question. IMO alot of people go way over board. Use a good 3/8 chain with rachet binders throw them over the axles but watch out for track bar, sway bar, brake lines. I normally anchor about 3ft in front and behind the axles. Bind them down and be done with it.