6.0 to something better

George

Reaction score
I'm a recent Duramax convert. Not because I didnt like the engine but because I'm 6'5'' and dont fit comfortably in chevrolets. Any way I traded my LB7 even for an 05 king ranch super duty with two blown head gaskets. I can fix the 6.0 but I'd rather just swap another engine in (but not a cummins) Im a diesel tech and have the resources and skills but I wanted to ask you guys opinions on swapping in a 6.7 psd or an lbz duramax. Save all the idiotic remarks asking why I didnt just buy a 6.7 or keep a duramax. I want a custom truck and thats it. I know i would have to pretty much find a donor 6.7 truck with the dash and all the other stuff I need to swap but i can do a duramax allison swap with stand alone controllers and keep the ford transfer case. So..... Give me ideas. Im open to suggetsions.

George

Reaction score
I live in NC. I understand you think its a waste of time but not for me. I personally think taking a 8,000lb truck and drag racing it is dumb but hey..... people do it.

drunk on diesel

Reaction score
be sure to keep us posted on this project although my crystal ball has already told me exactly how it will unfold

drunk on diesel

Reaction score
he was saying do a dmax/allison swap OR do a 6.7 Ford swap

the Dmax setup will be easier, especially if you are already familiar with them. But it still sounds like a huge waste of time/money to me

if you were going to do a 6.7, why not just fix the truck, sell it, profit, and buy a 6.7?

you're going to have a bunch of time and money wrapped up in either swap that you'll never get back... fixing the 6.0 would be quick and you could actually make money vs. setting it on fire

co04cobra

Reaction score
We have done several engine conversions. Currently finishing up an 08 6.4 to 7.3 swap. Have changed several 6.0s to 7.3s.

My only input is get a donor truck and keep it a PSD!!! :ford:

slc dzl

Reaction score