anyone whos used RCD's black onyx head gaskets chime in

speedracer1000

Reaction score
just heard from a dealer that 2 out of 10 trucks had head gasket failure that they put the black onyx gaskets in... i put them in my truck and havent had any trouble yet. but i was just wondering who all has had trouble with them??

Wera

Reaction score
What are the advantages to using these over stock? Especially if you are running w/ studs?

IdahoF350

Reaction score
My understanding is that the RCD Black Onyx and all the others sold under this name is a re-boxed Victor Reinz gasket. At any rate, I've been punishing mine for 5 months. We towed the 5th wheel from SoCal to ND through Montana and Wyoming to see Yellowstone, and all over the place. Tuning is super mild, but not stock and the truck and trailer weigh in at 20-21k combined. Towing miles since install in April totals just under 10,000 miles, and they have right at 15,000 on them total. When I'm not towing I run a 100hp street file.

So far I'm happy with them, but I did the install myself and treated the install like it I would have treated any race engine I've built or worked on and everything had to be exact, flat, and clean. Time will tell.

SIX_OHH

In the Brig (Banned)
Reaction score
You may be a lucky case... I don't really think there are advantages to using BO. They may fail they may not...depending on how good you did the job and how you drive the truck. Also depends on if your block is flat and if the heads are flat and not warped. Did you get any of that checked out? If you really wanna know if they will last longer than others then tell us how do you drive use/abuse the truck and what did you do for block/head preparation.

09stroker

Reaction score
The engine we rebuilt had everything checked out flat from a machine shop not ford and they went out 6 months later. I would just use stock gaskets. Lessons learned.

SIX_OHH

In the Brig (Banned)
Reaction score