Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Power Strokes > 6.7 Aftermarket

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-25-2017, 07:39 AM
LAMB LAMB is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Default

I'm having the same issue with my 14. Both modules are just unplugged and the connectors are just hanging there. I've had it happen every couple thousand miles or a couple hundred miles it seems to pop another fuse. I talked to the service manager at the dealership and he said it has something to do with the software within the programming of the ECU. It runs a system check every so often to look for the modules and if they aren't hooked up it seems to blow the fuse. From what I gathered from him the change was made on the 13's going forward. I was wondering if this could be fixed with the tunes I am running or if I have to get creative and make some changes to the circuit to mimic the modules operating correctly.
  #12  
Old 05-25-2017, 07:58 AM
8WR_ZJ 8WR_ZJ is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 675
Default

Any more direction or pics on what to do? How do you keep this from happening on a 15' that is dereeted?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 F-350 CCLB 4WD, S&B, GH SOTF, 4" FLOPRO, FUN SWITCH.
  #13  
Old 05-25-2017, 09:08 AM
BigRed97's Avatar
BigRed97 BigRed97 is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saugus MA
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAMB View Post
....I talked to the service manager at the dealership and he said it has something to do with the software within the programming of the ECU. It runs a system check every so often to look for the modules and if they aren't hooked up it seems to blow the fuse.....
That's horse ****, that's just your dealer making **** up to sound knowledgeable. Programming will NOT blow a fuse.

Any way it happend to me also a few hundred miles after weight loss. I left the module plugged into the main harness and just unplugged the sensors. Got the codes after the first rain storm. Found green stuff in the front module sensor socket, removed both and greased and taped up connectors and No issues since
__________________
Truckless for now
  #14  
Old 05-25-2017, 09:21 AM
LAMB LAMB is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Default

I've been through about 5 or 6 blade fuses so far trying to get it to go away. It keeps coming back sometimes sooner sometimes later and I noticed it does depend on the weather and it's never at an exact mileage. I am going to check the connectors again clean them out with alcohol and pack them with dielectric and wrap them with a glove or something to make it water tight. I originally had them both connected and ran almost 8k miles then popped the fuse I disconnected the rear most module first and blew a fuse right away then tried disconnecting the one towards the front on the inside of the frame rail and it went away for about 6k miles but came right back on again one day. Cleared the code tried another fuse and blew right away again.
  #15  
Old 05-25-2017, 09:28 AM
Zmann's Avatar
Zmann Zmann is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,469
Default

if you can't solve the issue
why not run an auto-resetting fuse?
__________________
DTR RON Huxell's Memorial donation page please donate

https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
  #16  
Old 05-25-2017, 09:59 AM
LAMB LAMB is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Default

Just ordered one from littelfuse, should be in some time next week. I am still going to try to clean out the connections and pack them with dielectric to see if that fixes the problem first. If it doesn't fix it then I will try the auto reset blade fuse it was about $6 shipped to my door.
  #17  
Old 05-25-2017, 11:16 AM
Zmann's Avatar
Zmann Zmann is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,469
Default

they work well for the random fuse blowing problems and even troubleshooting

now if it blew a fuse every few minutes then I would be inclined to find the problem
sooner than later
__________________
DTR RON Huxell's Memorial donation page please donate

https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
  #18  
Old 05-25-2017, 12:17 PM
LAMB LAMB is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Default

Yeah it's not that bad lol. Thanks for the help and I will update once I get around to working on it when I get back from vacation.
  #19  
Old 05-30-2017, 01:37 PM
Be.jammmin Be.jammmin is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I haven't had any of these codes yet. How many of these NOX modules are there on a 2015 and where are they located? I remember seeing two on the frame (one on the inside and one on the outside). Plus the particulate matter sensor by the tailpipe. The PM sensor is already taken care of. Thanks in advance.

B
  #20  
Old 05-30-2017, 02:09 PM
jwalk09's Avatar
jwalk09 jwalk09 is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Be.jammmin View Post
I haven't had any of these codes yet. How many of these NOX modules are there on a 2015 and where are they located? I remember seeing two on the frame (one on the inside and one on the outside). Plus the particulate matter sensor by the tailpipe. The PM sensor is already taken care of. Thanks in advance.



B


3. There is also one at the rear tailpipe section


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 F-250 Lariat
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd