Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Power Strokes > 7.3 Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2020, 12:57 PM
Hillbillyshakespeare's Avatar
Hillbillyshakespeare Hillbillyshakespeare is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Default OD light flashing, bad OSS sensor?

Trying to diagnose a potentially bad OSS. This is code itís throwing. I added a link to the video of my Forscan pids. You can see the OSS has no reading in first gear and doesnít want to shift. I let off the throttle and it finally shifts to second and I start to get an OSS reading and then the OD light starts flashing. Iím assuming thatís not how the sensor is supposed to work?

https://youtu.be/h9GsuX-ukdQ

  #2  
Old 01-04-2020, 02:56 PM
Mark Kovalsky's Avatar
Mark Kovalsky Mark Kovalsky is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SE Florida, USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

That is not how the sensor is supposed to work.

What is happening is that when you see the OSS reading the PCM has calculated what the OSS should read and substituted that in place of the actual reading.

You have either a bad OSS or a damaged wire between the PCM and the OSS. My money is on the wire, not the sensor.
__________________
Mark
Former Ford Automatic Transmission Engineer

ďThe good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.Ē ― Neil deGrasse Tyson
  #3  
Old 01-04-2020, 03:12 PM
Hillbillyshakespeare's Avatar
Hillbillyshakespeare Hillbillyshakespeare is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Kovalsky View Post
That is not how the sensor is supposed to work.

What is happening is that when you see the OSS reading the PCM has calculated what the OSS should read and substituted that in place of the actual reading.

You have either a bad OSS or a damaged wire between the PCM and the OSS. My money is on the wire, not the sensor.


Well the sensor will be here Monday. Iíll put it in and see if there is any change. If not I will trace the harness.

I just thought it was weird the VSS and OSS had no reading until i let off and it shifted to 2nd.
  #4  
Old 01-05-2020, 09:47 AM
Mark Kovalsky's Avatar
Mark Kovalsky Mark Kovalsky is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SE Florida, USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

I don't think it's weird at all. The software determines that the sensors are not reporting, so it goes into failure mode. In failure mode it calculates what the sensors should be reporting and uses that to make the shifts happen.
__________________
Mark
Former Ford Automatic Transmission Engineer

ďThe good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.Ē ― Neil deGrasse Tyson
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:59 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd