Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Power Strokes > 6.0 Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2018, 07:47 AM
6speedsd's Avatar
6speedsd 6speedsd is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 3,322
Default Cam sensor cause IPR to not close?

Been out of town for a week and came home to the 03 6.0 being dead. Said it was running fine and just shut off like you turned the key. Hasn't hit a lick since. Put AE on it this morning. Getting no RPM signal which tells me the cam sensor is bad. ICPv is good, pressure will go as high as 600 when cranking, but is up and down anywhere from 600 to 200. IPR stays at 14.5% but very briefly will jump to 84, but immediately back to 14.5. I can manually command the IPR to 80% and ICP jumps to 3000.

Will a bad cam sensor cause the IPR to not function? The ICP and IPR were both replaced earlier this year, but the truck is still on the original HPOP at almost 300k miles. ICP was leaking oil bad, IPR had quit working. My original guess was the pump finally chit the bed, but thinking now I might get lucky and only have to replace a cam sensor.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
2005 F350 2wd CC DRW Lariat

Diamond Eye 5" straight piped
155/30's
KC Stage 1.5
WPE RR and Uppipes
  #2  
Old 06-11-2018, 07:51 AM
bismic bismic is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 142
Default

No rpm signal is typically a crank sensor issue.

When a crank sensor is bad, typically the IPR defaults to 14.4% SO you could be having intermittent issues with that sensor.
__________________
Lots of good stuff

Last edited by bismic; 06-11-2018 at 07:56 AM.
  #3  
Old 06-11-2018, 08:51 AM
6speedsd's Avatar
6speedsd 6speedsd is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 3,322
Default

Dang, I though the rpm signal came from the cam sensor. Crank sensor was replaced on it, but it's been a while. I'll try that first.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
2005 F350 2wd CC DRW Lariat

Diamond Eye 5" straight piped
155/30's
KC Stage 1.5
WPE RR and Uppipes
  #4  
Old 06-11-2018, 08:57 AM
Zeb Zeb is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Downtown Marrowbone Ky
Posts: 23
Default

On my SnapOn scanner rpm comes from the cam sensor, but on an SCT device it seems to come from the crank sensor because I have unplugged a cam sensor before and still picked up rpm when cranking with an SCT.
That being said, I believe the ECM reads rpm from the cam sensor. If you don’t have cam sensor signal the ECM doesn’t know that the motor is turning over and will not change IPR position.
  #5  
Old 06-11-2018, 12:49 PM
bismic bismic is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Ford manuals specifically state that the rpm comes from the crank sensor, and to replace it for no sync and no rpm signal.

Check the connector and wiring closely.
__________________
Lots of good stuff

Last edited by bismic; 06-11-2018 at 12:56 PM.
  #6  
Old 06-11-2018, 10:28 PM
6.0 Tech's Avatar
6.0 Tech 6.0 Tech is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 2,486
Default

As stated, rpm comes from the crank sensor. Without rpm, the truck doesnt know its turning over, so its not gonna close the ipr, command injectors, etc.
__________________
04 cclb IDP and TSD tunes, KC Stage 2 hi pressure, S476 atmosphere, Odawg Stage 2 ported intake, RCD Stage 1 cam, RCD lifters and pushrods, RCD 120# valve springs, ARP 625s, o ringed heads, Warren 7mm 250/100 hybrids, Strictly bowl dereete regulated return, Air Dog 2 4g, Snow stage 2 water/meth
  #7  
Old 06-12-2018, 04:46 AM
bismic bismic is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Appreciate the post 6.0Tech. Something is just telling me that a cam sensor was going to get changed anyway.
__________________
Lots of good stuff

Last edited by bismic; 06-12-2018 at 04:49 AM.
  #8  
Old 06-12-2018, 05:38 AM
6speedsd's Avatar
6speedsd 6speedsd is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 3,322
Default

Well it was, before the info I've gotten here. Crank sensor is ordered and will be picked up sometime today. I'll get it put on one day this week when I get a little bit of free time.

I pulled the cam sensor a couple months ago to replace the Oring...no way am I doing that again unless I have to. There is a hard line right in the way on the PS pump on the 03 that makes one bolt a giant pain...I dont remember it being that hard when I did the same thing on my 05. I know the crank sensor is sort of hard to get to as well...

Thanks for the info fellas

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
2005 F350 2wd CC DRW Lariat

Diamond Eye 5" straight piped
155/30's
KC Stage 1.5
WPE RR and Uppipes
  #9  
Old 06-13-2018, 10:22 AM
6speedsd's Avatar
6speedsd 6speedsd is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 3,322
Default

Hrmmm

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
2005 F350 2wd CC DRW Lariat

Diamond Eye 5" straight piped
155/30's
KC Stage 1.5
WPE RR and Uppipes
  #10  
Old 06-13-2018, 10:24 AM
6speedsd's Avatar
6speedsd 6speedsd is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 3,322
Default

Put in a new sensor, wires were chaffed so I dropped the ac compressor and took tensioner off to get the wiring up and out so I could clean and tape them. Back together and it fired right up, but misses like crazy, smokes heavy, and tach is bouncing all over the place. Forgot my laptop so I'll have to scan it tomorrow. Still acts like an issue there, and I'm concerned what broke that sensor.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
2005 F350 2wd CC DRW Lariat

Diamond Eye 5" straight piped
155/30's
KC Stage 1.5
WPE RR and Uppipes
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd