Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Premium Vendors > Elite Diesel

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2017, 06:24 PM
SVTDiesel's Avatar
SVTDiesel SVTDiesel is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 369
Default Elite Stage 3 Transmission issues

I have a stage 3 elite diesel tranny in my 08. The torque converter is not locking. I bought the truck used from another member here Brandon. Unfortunately this issue was there when I bought the truck. All codes P0741, and ABS codes were present. I had the solenoid changed, internal harness, external harness, and the main truck harness. This fixed my Speedo, abs, and all other codes except P0741. The torque converter is still not locking. Someone please help, I don't have more than 5-600 miles on it since buying it. But, the tranny had approximately 45k on it. Thank you.
  #2  
Old 07-25-2017, 08:46 PM
Mark Kovalsky's Avatar
Mark Kovalsky Mark Kovalsky is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SE Florida, USA
Posts: 1,157
Default

You could have a stuck torque converter clutch valve in the pump body, a bad seal on the input shaft, or a bad torque converter.
__________________
Mark
Former Ford Automatic Transmission Engineer

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson
  #3  
Old 07-26-2017, 06:58 AM
SVTDiesel's Avatar
SVTDiesel SVTDiesel is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 369
Default

That clutch valve that you're referencing is that same thing as the TCC solenoid? How can I tell if the torque converter is bad? Thank you!
  #4  
Old 07-26-2017, 08:15 PM
NathannialD's Avatar
NathannialD NathannialD is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 925
Default

You getting an output shaft speed reading?
__________________
2017 platinum
  #5  
Old 07-26-2017, 08:37 PM
Mark Kovalsky's Avatar
Mark Kovalsky Mark Kovalsky is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SE Florida, USA
Posts: 1,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVTDiesel View Post
That clutch valve that you're referencing is that same thing as the TCC solenoid? How can I tell if the torque converter is bad? Thank you!
No. The TCC solenoid feed pressure to the torque converter clutch valve. This valve is located inside the pump body, it is not near the solenoid.

The only way to know for sure about the converter is to remove it and cut it open. Usually everything else is eliminated as a possibility, and if nothing else is found to be bad the converter must be the problem.
__________________
Mark
Former Ford Automatic Transmission Engineer

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson
  #6  
Old 07-27-2017, 06:23 AM
SVTDiesel's Avatar
SVTDiesel SVTDiesel is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 369
Default

Thanks Mark, I may have more questions.

NathannialD; I will find out about the Output shaft speed reading.
  #7  
Old 07-27-2017, 06:24 AM
SVTDiesel's Avatar
SVTDiesel SVTDiesel is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 369
Default

Thanks Mark, I may have more questions.

NathannialD; I will find out if there is an output shaft speed reading.
  #8  
Old 07-27-2017, 06:43 AM
SVTDiesel's Avatar
SVTDiesel SVTDiesel is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 369
Default

NathannialD,
I assume there is an output shaft reading as the TC Slip works on the DashDaq. Where are you going with this thought please? Thank you!
  #9  
Old 07-27-2017, 08:16 AM
Mark Kovalsky's Avatar
Mark Kovalsky Mark Kovalsky is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SE Florida, USA
Posts: 1,157
Default

TC slip doesn't look at the output shaft speed. It compares engine speed and turbine speed. Output shaft speed is used with turbine speed to compute actual gear ratio.
__________________
Mark
Former Ford Automatic Transmission Engineer

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson
  #10  
Old 07-27-2017, 08:54 AM
SVTDiesel's Avatar
SVTDiesel SVTDiesel is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 369
Default

So, how would I be able to tell if there is an output shaft speed reading? Thank you!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd