NOOB: Oxy/Acetylene vs. Electric Arc Welder

ToMang07

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm thinking it's about damn time I get a welder. I have a electrical hookup I could use for 220 for an arc welder, but I'm thinking It'd be better to have a cut torch, anyway.

So my question is, what is better, and why?

Regardless, I'll be buying used, as I'll (hopefully) be doing a budget build flatbed. Money is tight, but I'm at the point where I just want/need a damn bed for my truck, and I'm pretty sure that after buying a torch/welder I'll still be saving money.

I'm a total noob. I have never welded in my life. More than willing to learn, I'm always looking to expand my skill set. Just don't know anybody local that has the tools to teach me.

I'm leaning Oxy/Acetylene. I like the idea of a cut torch, and I just think I'l get more use out of it that way. Seems price is about the same all around.

I'd appreciate all the advice/tips given!

ToMang07

Reaction score
Perhaps I should have said "Brazing" instead. Still learning the terms. :fustrate:

tensixniner

Reaction score
I love oxy-acetylene, and you can do what your asking with it, but I think you would be better off with a good quality mig machine.

Oxy-acetylene can be dangerous and frustrating if you don't have the experience/knowledge to use it.
For cutting metal I think a sawzall, zip cut, hacksaw ... etc would be easier and more useful for you.

Brazing and welding are two different things.
You're not going to want to braze a trailer or truck bed together.
Welding would be stronger and joint configurations would be simpler.

ToMang07

Reaction score
Ok, so Brazing isn't as strong then? Good to know.

So what kind of electric welders should I be looking at then? 110 or 220? Amps?

What's the main difference between wire/flux and mig?

Again, this is a budget build and I'll probably be buying used.

tbsimmons

Reaction score