Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Non - Specific > Engine Conversion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2015, 05:31 PM
Smokin444's Avatar
Smokin444 Smokin444 is offline
Corporal
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Easton,Md
Posts: 53
Default 7.3 standalone harness?

What all is needed to make a 7.3 powerstroke run without all the unecessary wiring thats not needed. Think of swapping a 7.3 in older truck in the near future and was wondering what needed to be done to make it work.
  #2  
Old 11-26-2015, 05:47 PM
79jasper's Avatar
79jasper 79jasper is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: skiatook, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,477
Default

Basically the harness and pcm from a t444e.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
__________________
2003 F250 KR SCSB FX4
Depleted, studded, airdog (which isn't currently hooked up), fass regulated return, airaide, 4 inch straight pipe with mbrp muffler(so on to go), glowchit pyro, fuel, boost, and trans temp. (Of course don't work lol) Hercules terra track A/T2 315/70/17.
2013 Honda pilot Touring
http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/778639.png
http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/776628.png
  #3  
Old 11-26-2015, 05:56 PM
dsberman94's Avatar
dsberman94 dsberman94 is offline
General
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10,519
Default

Is that going to control a 4r100 as well or is that going to require a trans controller?
__________________
02 F250 7.3 Crew Cab Short Bed Lariat
PHP Hydra, Ge4rhead tunes, Edge insight CTS monitor
Mild Trans Build, Dual disc TC
GTP38R, T500, PIS 175/80s in the engine. waiting to see rods one day

Turned 200k miles 1/18/2015
  #4  
Old 11-26-2015, 06:00 PM
79jasper's Avatar
79jasper 79jasper is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: skiatook, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,477
Default

I believe that would be separate. Most of those would have real truck trans that will either be: A. Manual. B. Have its own computer.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
__________________
2003 F250 KR SCSB FX4
Depleted, studded, airdog (which isn't currently hooked up), fass regulated return, airaide, 4 inch straight pipe with mbrp muffler(so on to go), glowchit pyro, fuel, boost, and trans temp. (Of course don't work lol) Hercules terra track A/T2 315/70/17.
2013 Honda pilot Touring
http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/778639.png
http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/776628.png
  #5  
Old 11-26-2015, 06:32 PM
dsberman94's Avatar
dsberman94 dsberman94 is offline
General
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10,519
Default

That's what I figured but I just wanted to know for sure.
__________________
02 F250 7.3 Crew Cab Short Bed Lariat
PHP Hydra, Ge4rhead tunes, Edge insight CTS monitor
Mild Trans Build, Dual disc TC
GTP38R, T500, PIS 175/80s in the engine. waiting to see rods one day

Turned 200k miles 1/18/2015
  #6  
Old 11-26-2015, 09:21 PM
Vader's Fury's Avatar
Vader's Fury Vader's Fury is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chesapeake City, MD
Posts: 3,310
Default

You can strip down a truck harness to make it work.

That is what I am doing for my swap. Just getting the bare essential to run the motor in the configuration that I need. Removing wiring for fuel bowl heater, ebpv, glow plug, etc. My trans will be stand alone though so that will be even fewer wires I will need.
__________________
Robert

2003 F-350 CCLB, Frame off restoration in progress

2002 F-250 ECLB, Parts hauler

2002 Excursion, Twin hauler
  #7  
Old 11-26-2015, 10:10 PM
Smokin444's Avatar
Smokin444 Smokin444 is offline
Corporal
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Easton,Md
Posts: 53
Default

I was just wondering which wire are really needed to make it run but I like the t444e idea


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  #8  
Old 11-27-2015, 05:46 AM
UpstateDieselGuy's Avatar
UpstateDieselGuy UpstateDieselGuy is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mayfield, NY
Posts: 986
Default

Would the T444E harness work with a Ford PCM for programming and tuning?
__________________
2015 F-350 Extended Cab Short Box Lariat; Tuxedo Black with Black Leather Interior; 8 1/2' Fisher MM2
  #9  
Old 11-27-2015, 07:26 AM
79jasper's Avatar
79jasper 79jasper is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: skiatook, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,477
Default

Not sure on that one. I know they run a different one though, but some people can still tune them.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
__________________
2003 F250 KR SCSB FX4
Depleted, studded, airdog (which isn't currently hooked up), fass regulated return, airaide, 4 inch straight pipe with mbrp muffler(so on to go), glowchit pyro, fuel, boost, and trans temp. (Of course don't work lol) Hercules terra track A/T2 315/70/17.
2013 Honda pilot Touring
http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/778639.png
http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/776628.png
  #10  
Old 11-28-2015, 08:03 AM
Vader's Fury's Avatar
Vader's Fury Vader's Fury is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chesapeake City, MD
Posts: 3,310
Default

No. Plugs are different. The pcm on a t444e is a different case design. That is why I am stripping down a super duty harness.

Also a ts style chip will not work with a t444e pcm.
__________________
Robert

2003 F-350 CCLB, Frame off restoration in progress

2002 F-250 ECLB, Parts hauler

2002 Excursion, Twin hauler
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd