Ported heads.

Bmcgarvie

Reaction score
I've tried to do research on ported heads for these truck. What little I can find is most people say the stock cam and heads are good to 600hp? I'm wondering if with the new advancements in tuning and turbos if ported heads for someone in the sub 600 hp range is beneficial. I'm not looking at cost. Just the performance, drivability, or efficiency gains. Would love to hear what you guys got to say.

sootie

Reaction score
Minimal gains?!?!??!

The most often overlooked performance upgrade to a 7.3 is head work and cam. The fastest fuel only 7.3 didn't get there without it....

Lt.Dan

Reaction score
I don't have first hand experience, but from what I've seen, it won't help much. But again, I'm no expert, just trying to redistribute info I've found as well.

sootie

Reaction score
I don't have first hand experience, but from what I've seen, it won't help much. But again, I'm no expert, just trying to redistribute info I've found as well.

So what have you seen? Post up track times or dyno graphs with a mod list from your own experience. Not trying to be a d!ck just i call out misinformation when i see it.

sootie

Reaction score
From a stock power truck up. If it's good for an 1300hp truck it's good for a 300hp truck. Efficiency is efficiency

hucorey

Reaction score
From a stock power truck up. If it's good for an 1300hp truck it's good for a 300hp truck. Efficiency is efficiency
This would be true as long as the person doing the port n polish job didn't screw them up.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

mtsnowrunner

Reaction score
Nate at RPM engines did a lot of them years ago and said it was about a 60HP gain and 10PSI drop. After talking to Corey at CNC fab he’s possibly going to do some and thinks the potential for a 600 hp daily driver tow rig that won’t break 1200 degrees is a possibility.

Reaction score