paint advice

swamp_ratt

Reaction score
Gonna be painting my truck here soon. This will be my first time painting and could use some advice. Gonna be using an enamel paint i think and would like to clear coat. Shoot me some tips and tricks. Should i clear coat or no? Is clear coat put on most vehicles?

rc4wd

Reaction score
Not a painter myself but have several buddies that do paint and body work and they all started out spraying a single stage base clear and most of them turned out pretty good. But personally i just prefer a rattle can, say it with Krylon :)

chappy

Reaction score
I'm no expert but have done some painting. The hardest part about painting is actually getting the body ready for paint. Any flaws in the body will show thru the paint and you will not be able to see a lot of them before painting. It will still look good but not perfect. You might have some waves and such but it will still look good. Do not spray the floor or ground with water. It evaporates and gets into the paint as you are spraying the body. An old trick is to ground the body since your not using an actual paint booth with ventilation. Stick a steel rod in the ground and run a ground cable to a secure metal spot on the truck. it will help to keep the truck from attracting dust and dirt like a duster. If you have a harbor tool and freight aropund they actually have a decent paint gun for $25 bucks. Its a hvlp gun gravity fed which you want. If you have a sherwin williams around they actually have decent paint as well and can hook you up with a good paint for really decent price. You will want to primer it first then paint and clear. If you do go to sherwin williams they will answer a lot of your questions about painting like time to wait before wet sanding and between coats and such. I like 2-3 coats of paint and 5 coats of clear. You don't need 5 coats of clear but I like to be able to wetsand and buff and not worry about thining the clear to much.

chappy

Reaction score