defueling settings

workingdan

Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here. I am getting my "D kit" Tuesday and installing it soon and want to get some opinions on defueling settings.I will be using a probe from the DEF in the E.. plug in the block ... plate. I have searched and see alot of guys dont use them but I will be towing heavy so I think it will be a good idea. I only use my 2014 F450 for towing my 20K toy hauler and will have my mini maxx set to a pre loaded tow tune. Would like to protect my investment and not have to constantly watch the gauge while Im towing.
Thanks for the info.

EGT:
High coolant:
Low coolant:
Oil Temp:
Trans temp:
Boost psi:

sootie

Reaction score
the tow tune doenst do anything crazy enough to warrant defuels imo...

FordTechChase

Reaction score
No science here just what I've done the few customers trucks I've installed them on and the woman's new ride...cold coolant 150, egt 1300 and come up 50 degrees of they hit that one to much. I think the coolant temp hot is at 240 or 250 on mine right now. Set boost at 45. I see 40-42 regularly on a big tune so raised it just a few over normal. Shouldn't ever be that high with less fuel though.

Not sure if these are safe numbers or not just what I tried to follow on my duramax and what I run on our 6.4. Woman used to give my DMax hell to the point I knew she was going to cook a piston.

sootie

Reaction score
No science here just what I've done the few customers trucks I've installed them on and the woman's new ride...cold coolant 150, egt 1300 and come up 50 degrees of they hit that one to much. I think the coolant temp hot is at 240 or 250 on mine right now. Set boost at 45. I see 40-42 regularly on a big tune so raised it just a few over normal. Shouldn't ever be that high with less fuel though.

Not sure if these are safe numbers or not just what I tried to follow on my duramax and what I run on our 6.4. Woman used to give my DMax hell to the point I knew she was going to cook a piston.