C&C vs Pickup Difference

Lt.Dan

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm looking at ordering a 20' or 21' F350 or F450, and I'm debating on getting a Cab and Chassis because they are a bit cheaper, and I build flatbeds quite often. My questions is, I heard the 11-16 trucks had a different turbo, but can't find anything on 17-19 or the 20s. I know they detune them a bit, and I see the C&C tow capacity is lower as well? But yet they have way bigger brakes, bigger axle, stronger suspension etc, how can that be?

Question is, whats your guys opinion? I own a 5th wheel toy hauler that I plan on using 10-15 times a year, and it will weigh 20k+ lbs.

ghohouston

Reaction score
I've driven a few c&c 6.7's as well as daily drove an f750 with one for about 2 years, and a few 6.7 f250's. The f250's I drove would take off like a rocket. The c&c trucks take off so slow, it should be illegal, no joke. I have no experience with the newer ones though. The whole detuned thing is beyond a freakin joke. How often do you see guys with goosenecks hauling small excavators/ god knows what else in a f250/350? I see it on a regular basis. Doesn't really make sense.

Last edited:

J98

Reaction score
On the f350's, the axles are the same and so are the brakes. The c&c have a few more leafs in the back then the standard f350, but the f450s get the wider front axle, tighter turning radius and bigger brakes

The new '20+ c&c trucks are a lot quicker then the '11-19 chassis trucks were, they'll peg 30 psi of boost no problem.

Last edited:

Lt.Dan

Reaction score
I'm sure the 10 spd helps, im still curious if anyone know of any mechanical differences between the C&C and the pickup? Or is it purely software?

superpsd

Reaction score