2001 7.3 issues

my55shoebox

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am new to the group, checked out a bunch of forums before joining and this one seemed to have the best info and not a bunch of people running around pounding their chests....LOL
So I picked up a 2001 Ford F550, 4x4 4 door and it's got an issue. I am no diesel mechanic by any means, so hoping I can get help here.
The guy I got it from pulled the fuel pump fuse and hooked a toggle switch in place of it. If you start the truck it will idle, but has no power, if you flip the switch on it almost seems to over fuel. I can get it to rev up to 2000 rpm but takes a while, and then if I flip the switch on it will rev up to red line, (turning the switch on would be like replacing the fuse) It idles rough almost like a mis in a gas engine. I wish I knew more to figure this out.
I have pulled the valve cover, checked all wiring, seems fine, I unplug the injectors while running and it seems the one on the front passenger side doesn't miss a beat as much as lets say disconnecting the rear one. Is it possible for one to work half ass? There is also a little wee bit of oil coming out of the front two and nothing out of the rear two.
Any help at all is welcomed, I am not up on the apprev's like tps....ect Thanks again guys.

Last edited:

Dirtclod

Reaction score
Welcome to the site! Lots of knowledge on here and they have helped me out a lot. Even though I can't answer your question but that toggle switch shouldn't Be there. These things run on high pressure oil with an electronic injection drive module(IDM). If the IDM isn't working it won't start.Fuel pressure should be @55-60 psi. I would say down to @40 you wouldn't be able to tell much difference. If you're not getting enough oil to the injectors it's either a very weak HPOP (high pressure oil pump) ICP(injection control pressure sensor) CPS( cam pos Sensor) or IPR Valve. They all work together like timing for a gas engine. So what fuse are you bypassing?

my55shoebox