Programmer question

602_7.3

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new here and I'm sure there are a million threads and opinions on programmers. I'm new to the 7.3 and wonder what the pros and cons are to a programmer vs. gauges/pods? And what programmers everyone is using?

bruce

Reaction score
You're right, there are tons of threads on tunes, try reading a few and making a decision.

Justin@DP-Tuner

Reaction score
A programmer and gauges are two entirely different things. A programmer can have gauges built into it, but it's main purpose is to load tunes onto the vehicle.

Basically, you have a couple different options... You can go with a chip and set of analog gauges, or you can go with a programmer that has gauges/monitoring capabilities built in. You will be able to see a lot more information using OBDII (programmer/monitor) compared to a set of analog gauges. However, you will still need to add an EGT sensor to your programmer if you want to watch that, as the 7.3L PCM does not monitor that.

So the pros and cons are...

Chip and analog gauges: switch on the fly tuning, but only gives you a few PID's.

Programmer/monitor: Can see a lot more data, but you must shut the engine off to switch tunes.

We carry many products for both options if you are interested.

Arisley

Reaction score
Or you can get a chip and a gauge like this one:

roforce-blue-led-interceptor-dual-scan-gauge-set-5.png

It will see everything the PCM sees, you can pull codes, clear codes, run a buzz test and a cylinder contribution test with it.

You can also add two external inputs to it, like fuel pressure, (7.3 PCM does not monitor fuel pressure) and EGT (same as above).

602_7.3

Reaction score
A programmer and gauges are two entirely different things. A programmer can have gauges built into it, but it's main purpose is to load tunes onto the vehicle.