Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Power Strokes > 7.3 Aftermarket

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2019, 07:36 AM
Arnoldb.1 Arnoldb.1 is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Default 00 Excursion 7.3 P1670 only Help!

Hi, I have a 2000 2wd Excursion with 7.3 and Iím getting a soft P1670 code. Truck starts and runs fine, but is fueling so hard I have to adjust my wastegate preload as loose as possible or the turbo chokes down and my egt stay super hot if my not easy with the throttle. A WOT hit it can get 1350+ EGT real quick.
Thoughts? I have AE and working through the alldata procedure for the P1670 code.
Truck parts break down:
Modded stock turbo with:
Hydra chip with ******** custom tunes
KCTurbos S300 turbine, High flow outlet, Compressor DIY kit 66/88/93mm Billet 6/6 wheel, 4Ē ported cover, Dieselsite turbomaster mechanical wastegate
Swamps 2.5 175/30 injectors
Comp 910 springs shimmed 1.74
Smith Bros pushrods
Adrenaline HPOP
Riff Raff Billet manifolds
Ported/polish spyder intake
4Ē turbo back exhaust turn down in front of axle
Below up pipes
HVLP oil pump
4 Riff Raff ported banjo bolts
Walbro GSL high pressure fuel pump
Riff Raff FRX with 60psi spring
Dieselsite Hercules Billet race trans with converter
External trans filter
Precision industries Billet flexplate
Iíve done a few more things but thatís the big highlights
  #2  
Old 08-28-2019, 01:38 AM
lincolnlocker's Avatar
lincolnlocker lincolnlocker is offline
General
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: central new york
Posts: 26,041
Default

How much boost are you seeing?

live life full throttle
__________________
00,f350,4x4,cc,drw. Sold... good bye ole girl. I will miss you
15,f350,4x4,cclb, not stock
god bless america and the farmer who feeds your fat ass
  #3  
Old 08-28-2019, 01:46 AM
lincolnlocker's Avatar
lincolnlocker lincolnlocker is offline
General
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: central new york
Posts: 26,041
Default

How good of shape are your batteries and alternator in? Whats voltage at idle and if possible while driving? All grounds and connections good?

live life full throttle
__________________
00,f350,4x4,cc,drw. Sold... good bye ole girl. I will miss you
15,f350,4x4,cclb, not stock
god bless america and the farmer who feeds your fat ass
  #4  
Old 08-29-2019, 06:11 PM
Arnoldb.1 Arnoldb.1 is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Default

It would hit 30psi with the wastegate preload on the spring loose at over 2.5”
Batteries are new from autozone and battery voltage on my CTS2 shows 13.9V after start up at idle, while driving I’ve seen it go to 14.1V. Checked the grounds and cables looked good.
  #5  
Old 08-30-2019, 04:52 AM
njjeep's Avatar
njjeep njjeep is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 437
Default

Have you checked for boost leaks? Lots of places on these engines that leak. I got a boost leak detector it was money well spent.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
01 7.3 - 12.6 1/4 mile - Marty's Fuel, Swamp's 250/200's, BTS, Irate T4 S468, SRP1.1
08 6.4 - H&S
  #6  
Old 08-30-2019, 02:15 PM
Arnoldb.1 Arnoldb.1 is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, I found only one very small leak. I don’t think the issue isn’t the turbo not spooling, I think this soft code 1670 is over fueling the truck. Example I took the wastegate spring off and hung the wastegate wide open and it still made 28psi was a Smokey hot mess doing it but it did it with the gate wide open. Also the less preload on the wastegate spring the better the turbo spools. When I first did the injectors first of the year with 1”7/8” preload on the wastegate spring it would almost instantly hit 27psi and max boost at WOT 44psi and stay under 1200egt, now if I tried to preload it that tight it will bog the turbo down and sit around 8psi then jump up to 27psi at the top of the rpm.
  #7  
Old 08-30-2019, 06:07 PM
PSD POWER007's Avatar
PSD POWER007 PSD POWER007 is online now
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 427
Default

That makes no sense. More preload in the spring should have the opposite effect. Probably shouldn’t have enough fuel to over spin that turbo. When I had my 38r I had the WG adjusted so that it couldn’t open and didn’t have issues with 175/80’s.
__________________
2003 Ford Excursion Eddie Bauer 4x4 7.3L Powerstroke Forged
Irate T4 BASB, DIY Tymar, Full Force 180/80's, Adrenaline HPOP, Driven Diesel RR & banjos, Magnaflow TBE, GH tuned Hydra, 05 Harley's w/ HID conversion, Edge Insight CTS2, RiffRaff BRV & coolant filter, 20" Black Moto Metal, Dieselsite boots, JLR valve body, 6.0 trans cooler, ARP's
  #8  
Old 08-30-2019, 06:41 PM
dsberman94's Avatar
dsberman94 dsberman94 is offline
General
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10,816
Default

Run a buzz test, key on engine off test, with ae. If that fails youíve got a wiring problem or bad idm. If it passes replace the cps For piece of mind. Pull the hydra chip completely out and see if it helps. The code says thereís a communication problem between the pcm and idm. Nothing to do with the turbo or wastegate at all.
__________________
02 F250 7.3 Crew Cab Short Bed Lariat
PHP Hydra, Ge4rhead tunes, Edge insight CTS monitor
Mild Trans Build, Dual disc TC
GTP38R, T500, PIS 175/80s in the engine. waiting to see rods one day

Turned 200k miles 1/18/2015
  #9  
Old 08-30-2019, 08:59 PM
lincolnlocker's Avatar
lincolnlocker lincolnlocker is offline
General
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: central new york
Posts: 26,041
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsberman94 View Post
Run a buzz test, key on engine off test, with ae. If that fails youíve got a wiring problem or bad idm. If it passes replace the cps For piece of mind. Pull the hydra chip completely out and see if it helps. The code says thereís a communication problem between the pcm and idm. Nothing to do with the turbo or wastegate at all.
What he said^^^

live life full throttle
__________________
00,f350,4x4,cc,drw. Sold... good bye ole girl. I will miss you
15,f350,4x4,cclb, not stock
god bless america and the farmer who feeds your fat ass
  #10  
Old 09-01-2019, 02:16 PM
Arnoldb.1 Arnoldb.1 is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Default

I did the buzz test it passed, all the injectors sounded perfectly the same. I took the chip out removed the tunes and reloaded only a couple still no change. Did a data log on AE and sent it to ******** they wanted to see Mass Fuel Desired and said everything was good.
@PSD POWER007 yeah makes no sense, I’m still using the stock .84 A/R housing, but have a 1.0 gated housing I can try. Still searching and testing. I know the code is a communication error between the pcm and IDM. I was just noting how the turbo and fueling is acting right now cause of the communication error that’s going on.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd