Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > The Bunker > General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2018, 09:12 AM
Strokersace's Avatar
Strokersace Strokersace is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Towanda, KS
Posts: 4,249
Default Which ZF6 for 12v Cummins Project?

Trying to decide what ZF6 to go with on this project. Building a 1951 F3. Want it as mechanical as possible so itís getting a 12v Cummins and I want a ZF6 behind it. Truck will be a 2wd.

Iíve read that the ZF from the 6.0 and 6.4 is better and more robust as compared to the one behind a 7.3.

The Cummins will be in the 600rwhp range when finished. With 2wd versions hard to come by should I specifically be looking for the later version that started with the 6.0ís or would an earlier version from a 7.3 be sufficient?

I have been in contact over the past year with a forum member about one from behind a 6.0 but itís going to cost a good bit to get it bought and shipped. However I recently found one from a L99 locally that I can get bought for half the one on the forum.

Just not sure if itís even worth it to look at the cheaper 7.3 version or if Iíd be money ahead to hold out for a 6.0+ version?
__________________
I'm sweatin' like a wh*re in church here!
  #2  
Old 07-08-2018, 10:19 AM
8WR_ZJ 8WR_ZJ is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 674
Default

I had a 6.0 zf6 behind my compond cummins swap. It was that way for 50k. Zero issues from the trans other than the rear output started leaking.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 F-350 CCLB 4WD, S&B, GH SOTF, 4" FLOPRO, FUN SWITCH.
  #3  
Old 07-09-2018, 08:07 AM
Strokersace's Avatar
Strokersace Strokersace is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Towanda, KS
Posts: 4,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8WR_ZJ View Post
I had a 6.0 zf6 behind my compond cummins swap. It was that way for 50k. Zero issues from the trans other than the rear output started leaking.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


So was there a reason you chose the 6.0 ZF6 over the one out of a 7.3?

Or was your truck a 6.0 to start with and you just kept your same with manual transmission?
__________________
I'm sweatin' like a wh*re in church here!
  #4  
Old 07-09-2018, 08:22 AM
8WR_ZJ 8WR_ZJ is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 674
Default

Sorry should have been clear. My truck had a 6.0 and ZF6 from the factory.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 F-350 CCLB 4WD, S&B, GH SOTF, 4" FLOPRO, FUN SWITCH.
  #5  
Old 07-09-2018, 05:05 PM
nchappy's Avatar
nchappy nchappy is offline
Corporal
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 66
Default

I think the 6.4 and 6.0 ZF6 input shaft is larger than on the 7.3 ZF6.
  #6  
Old 07-10-2018, 04:04 PM
SoGrand SoGrand is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 205
Default

I would try to find one out of a 6.0 or 6.4. Larger input shaft like others have said plus they upgraded the mainshaft spline areas and synchronizer assembly's on them also to handle more power. Another thing is pilot diameter difference between the 7.3 and 6.0&6.4. You wont have pilot failure on the 6.0 6.4 like you see on the 7.3.
  #7  
Old 10-23-2018, 08:54 AM
Strokersace's Avatar
Strokersace Strokersace is offline
Colonel
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Towanda, KS
Posts: 4,249
Default

Thanks for the replies guys. I passed on the local 7.3 ZF6. Going to wait until I come across one from a 6.0/6.4.
__________________
I'm sweatin' like a wh*re in church here!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd