Speedo jumping around

emilyyjustine

Reaction score
So I need some help! I have a manual 2002 f350 and my speedometer has been jumping a lot. It sits at 0 if I'm going 20mph or slower but as soon as I go over 20 it is all over the place. What could be causing this? Someone told me it was because I had a leak in my rear diff but I opened it up and changed the oil yesterday and put a new seal on it and it doesn't leak anymore but the speedo still jumps around. So I'm pretty sure they were wrong.... I have also changed the speed sensor and checked the wiring and still nothing... hopefully you guys can help me out! (I am new to working on my truck so if I sound dumb I am sorry)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

emilyyjustine

Reaction score
I think I do... and my abs light is on so I'll check that. Thank you!

Arisley

Reaction score
If you only have rear ABS, and the light is on, that is the rear VSS, the tone ring on the ring gear or the associated wiring. Which would also mess with your speedo.

Magnum PD

Reaction score
The tone ring on the differential needs to be in good shape as well

emilyyjustine

Reaction score
So finally got around to checking the tone ring and it's not in good shape
3d5ca6edb099fc79b708082e040eaf16.jpg
da561d97871db0c31d0874e2b104ff33.jpg

sootie

Reaction score
there will be more wrong than the tone ring....holy crap!

8WR_ZJ

Reaction score
Yeah not to mention with that much metal in the oil bearing surfaces are going to be rough and pitted. Hope the R & P finish is still good. How long has the speedo been jumping and or abs light been coming on? See it a few times on these rear ends.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

emilyyjustine

Reaction score