1978 Crew Cab F250 4X4, 7.3 POWERSTROKE Conversion

1killerz

Reaction score
Hope I am posting in the right spot. If not, please be sure to let me know.

Noob here (to the PS Army website anyway) and I would like to tell you a story. Some of you may have heard this story on one or two other sites. For those that have not, here it goes:

8-10 years ago, my beloved Black Cadillac STS was totaled, at my work, while I was not driving, in a parking spot minding its own business. Still pisses me off to this day when I think about it.

The good news is, after arm wrestling with the driver at faults insurance agency for a month and a half about totaling the Cadillac versus repairing, common sense soon took place and I was left with a large check via the insurance company versus a repaired and questionably repaired Cadillac.

So I got to go shopping. What do I replace my beloved car with? I looked at BMW's, Cadillac's, and other cars I really didn't like. I wanted something different, something reliable, and something that if got hit by another teenager skipping class to get high, maybe wouldn't break as easily as the Cadillac did.

A quick look in the Michigan Auto and RV revealed to me my next "Cadillac", a Cowboy Cadillac to be exact. A 1978 F250 Crew Cab. A guy in the Door, MI area had a son who was a moto cross up start, and they had just bought a new bike for him, then lost a sponsor, so they were stuck with the bike bill.

So I bought their beloved hauler, complete with a 460CID, auto trans, 39.5 inch super swampers, and sexy faded red paint.

Within a few months, I blew the motor (no fault of my own). We rebuilt the 460 to the tune of 485hp, with 535 foot pounds of torque. The thing was kick ass, and I was thankful it had two gas tanks.