spooling turbo with compressed air?

cfdeng7

Reaction score
Hey guyslet me say first off I am by no means an expert in turbos and airflow etc. And this may be completely retarded but its just an idea I had. For guys that are running big turbos on the track or pulling and have trouble spooling them off the line could you run an air line feeding compressed air on the exhaust side of the turbo to increase to pressure and help spool the turbo? Would be really cheap and a lot of pulling classes say no nitrous. Would this work or am i crazy haha. Just an idea

Rubenk

Reaction score
I think the biggest issue would be CFM. Sure that tank might be holding 120psi, but it wouldnt provide nearly enough CFM to help spool a turbo.

Just think about your inlet pipe's size...and when it spools it is pushing 25-35psi through a huge pipe compared to your typical airline

cfdeng7

Reaction score
That's what I thought about cfm. What about a venturi? Although would the added restriction negate any possible gains from it? Just throwing ideas around but I have a feeling if it would work someone with more knowledge on the subject would have done it already.

HVFC6040

Reaction score
I think buy forcing air into the exhaust side you are just creating more back pressure.

I thought about this a long time ago, had some old airpack bottles and a regulator. cfm wasnt even close to being able to do anything at all for the turbo.

cfdeng7

Reaction score
impingment. Sounds like they are directing air directly at the fins on the turbo to speed it up. I'm gonna google it

cowboy_dan

Reaction score
impingment. Sounds like they are directing air directly at the fins on the turbo to speed it up. I'm gonna google it

That's about the only way it would work.
Of course, on the big diesels you have do things and it will live that you can't on a LD pickup engine.

Rubenk

Reaction score