Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Power Strokes > 6.4 Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2013, 12:29 PM
Smokyred's Avatar
Smokyred Smokyred is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington, OH
Posts: 437
Default P0607 - Control Module Performance code

Hey guys, I went out to fire up my 6.4 the other day to take it to work. It had been sitting for a few weeks and the batteries were low. It cranked over a little slow but fired up fine. When I was on my way home from work I noticed the check engine light come on.

I hooked up AE on my laptop and the only code that is coming up is P0607-Control Module Performance. I can't really find anything on this code at all. If I clear it, it will usually reset on the second or third drive cycle.

I'm wondering if I can just return it to stock then load up a tune again, or if I permanently corrupted the TCM, I'm thinking that is what the code is for.

Other than the code being active, the truck runs and shifts just fine the same as before.

Thanks,
Dave
__________________
Truckless for now....

'09 Edge AWD Limited black on black...
'14 Fiesta SE 1.0 Ecoboost/5 speed

Sleds: '12 Ski Doo Renegade X 800 etec, '07 Yamaha Phazer MTX 500 4-stroker, '96 Yamaha VMax 600
  #2  
Old 12-24-2013, 07:42 AM
Smokyred's Avatar
Smokyred Smokyred is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington, OH
Posts: 437
Default

I guess not many people have run into seeing this code on it's own yet.

I went ahead and returned the truck to stock, and then retuned it. Since then the code has not returned after ~10 drive cycles and seven warm-up cycles.

My thought is low battery voltage while cranking corrupted the file, it seems possible to me.

Dave
__________________
Truckless for now....

'09 Edge AWD Limited black on black...
'14 Fiesta SE 1.0 Ecoboost/5 speed

Sleds: '12 Ski Doo Renegade X 800 etec, '07 Yamaha Phazer MTX 500 4-stroker, '96 Yamaha VMax 600
  #3  
Old 12-26-2013, 07:06 AM
Big Angry Hillbilly Big Angry Hillbilly is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 925
Default

From WSM:

REPROGRAM or UPDATE the calibration. CHECK for other DTCs and DIAGNOSE those first. MAKE SURE to check for aftermarket performance products before installing a new TCM . CLEAR the DTCs, REPEAT the self-test. If the DTC returns, INSTALL a new TCM .

That code is only listed for the TCM. They are pretty fragile when it comes to low voltage. I'm thinking you got off lucky without having to replace the TCM. Test those batteries, and if you are going to let it sit for long periods of time get a battery tender or unhook the batteries.

Just my .02
__________________
08 Job 3 F-350
4x4 Off Road
  #4  
Old 12-27-2013, 10:00 PM
Smokyred's Avatar
Smokyred Smokyred is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington, OH
Posts: 437
Default

Thanks for the reply!

The batteries are the originals, so they're probably getting tired. I'll clean terminals and load test them this week. Winter is when you find weak batteries, I've been replacing them in droves in our trucks at work!

Dave
__________________
Truckless for now....

'09 Edge AWD Limited black on black...
'14 Fiesta SE 1.0 Ecoboost/5 speed

Sleds: '12 Ski Doo Renegade X 800 etec, '07 Yamaha Phazer MTX 500 4-stroker, '96 Yamaha VMax 600
  #5  
Old 12-28-2013, 02:35 PM
Big Angry Hillbilly Big Angry Hillbilly is offline
Lieutenant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 925
Default

Mine just went for a **** a couple weeks ago - original batteries. One tested all the way up to like 400cca.
__________________
08 Job 3 F-350
4x4 Off Road
  #6  
Old 11-21-2015, 08:45 PM
BigNiner19 BigNiner19 is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South FL
Posts: 159
Default

I'm getting this code practically every single start up. I can turn the key to on, clear the code and the start the truck to keep the code from turning on. But if I just go and start the truck without clearing the code first, the P0607 Code will instantly throw check engine light.

brand new batteries. very clean connections. Truck starts right up and drives great.
__________________
2008 Black F250 6.4 - Long Bed XLT
H&S Mini Maxx (Hot Damn), 4" aFe Exhaust, Downpipe, Cold Air Side Pipe, aFe Intake, Flo-Pro Emissions ******
  #7  
Old 03-31-2017, 09:52 PM
BigNiner19 BigNiner19 is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South FL
Posts: 159
Default

Bump even 2 years later...Still doing it. Truck typically drives perfectly. Every once and a while for whatever reason it will get stuck in 3rd,4th, or even 5th even when coming to a complete stop. But after moving the shifter into park and back to drive (after stopping ofcourse) it will be normal again. Could this be related?
__________________
2008 Black F250 6.4 - Long Bed XLT
H&S Mini Maxx (Hot Damn), 4" aFe Exhaust, Downpipe, Cold Air Side Pipe, aFe Intake, Flo-Pro Emissions ******
  #8  
Old 08-28-2017, 02:03 AM
makaveli200369 makaveli200369 is offline
Corporal
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigNiner19 View Post
Bump even 2 years later...Still doing it. Truck typically drives perfectly. Every once and a while for whatever reason it will get stuck in 3rd,4th, or even 5th even when coming to a complete stop. But after moving the shifter into park and back to drive (after stopping ofcourse) it will be normal again. Could this be related?
Did you figure it out? Mine is doing the samething. I'm thinking the TCM is going bad.
  #9  
Old 01-02-2018, 06:45 PM
BigNiner19 BigNiner19 is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South FL
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveli200369 View Post
Did you figure it out? Mine is doing the samething. I'm thinking the TCM is going bad.
Nope, still havent done anything about it.

Did you replace the TCM?
__________________
2008 Black F250 6.4 - Long Bed XLT
H&S Mini Maxx (Hot Damn), 4" aFe Exhaust, Downpipe, Cold Air Side Pipe, aFe Intake, Flo-Pro Emissions ******
  #10  
Old 02-05-2018, 10:40 AM
Grn99gt Grn99gt is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Did either of you guys figure out your problem?

I have the same code (P0607) on my 2010 with an H&S tuner. Tried returning to stock and then retuning. No dice. Batteries are right at 12.5 volts resting, but I haven't load tested them.

I'm running out of ideas other than replacing the TCM.
  #11  
Old 02-06-2018, 07:38 PM
BigNiner19 BigNiner19 is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South FL
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grn99gt View Post
Did either of you guys figure out your problem?

I have the same code (P0607) on my 2010 with an H&S tuner. Tried returning to stock and then retuning. No dice. Batteries are right at 12.5 volts resting, but I haven't load tested them.

I'm running out of ideas other than replacing the TCM.
Still in the exact same boat.
__________________
2008 Black F250 6.4 - Long Bed XLT
H&S Mini Maxx (Hot Damn), 4" aFe Exhaust, Downpipe, Cold Air Side Pipe, aFe Intake, Flo-Pro Emissions ******
  #12  
Old 05-19-2018, 09:06 AM
BigNiner19 BigNiner19 is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South FL
Posts: 159
Default

Anyone have any updates on this?
__________________
2008 Black F250 6.4 - Long Bed XLT
H&S Mini Maxx (Hot Damn), 4" aFe Exhaust, Downpipe, Cold Air Side Pipe, aFe Intake, Flo-Pro Emissions ******
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd