Mild-build Compounds

JonathanN

Reaction score
Hey, guys... been doing alot of research up to this point so I'm pretty clear on how it works. What I'm a bit more at a loss for is what would make a good atmosphere. I've got a vague idea of what I'm supposed to look at in the maps, but still not sure how to utilize them completely. I turn wrenches for a living so I have no doubt that I could understand it... unless I either don't have the information I need or I can't afford the tools to do the job (alignments and tire work lol LOL ), I do it myself.

What I'm building is a 500HP daily driver and tow rig. I know most guys who build compounds are looking for high-hp numbers and while that would be fun, my truck has to stay reliable. I am going to be running AC-codes with 100% nozzles for injectors. My reason for this is because AC-codes are brand new NEVER-been-touched injectors and are very consistent and reliable. My reason for the nozzles is because they can empty an AC in that 2.5-3ms window, or so I've been told by injector builders. I would think that this injector should be capable of putting me at 500HP since an S366 alone can get these trucks up in the 475HP area with these injectors. I might be wrong, but I know I've seen a few OBS trucks with this setup that supposedly dynoed 475HP.

Which brings me to what I'm planning for my high-pressure, a waste-gated S366... as for the wastegate size, I'm not sure. I wouldn't think I'd need to run as large as some think. I've heard guys running one close in size to what the area of the two up-pipes is, but being that 100% of my back pressure will never have to be bypassed, I don't see why any larger than a 44mm like Irate uses should be necessary. That's just me, tell why I might be wrong.