7.3 swap, motors out....Upgrades?

Ruger5901

Reaction score
This is my first time really toying with a 7.3. We're putting it in a 93 cclb. It had a 5.8. The motor is out and just looking for some preventative mods and small performance but nothing huge. Does everyone run a different downpipe because I can't see how the flat one helps the motor at all?

obspsd

Reaction score
yes a 3 inch dp will really help that thing breath. maybe do a intake and a ts chip to bring it alive

obspsd

Reaction score
^^^nope. if the pan isn't leaking then i wouldn't waste your time resealing it

ghohouston

Reaction score
A great number, no. And ill assume you know there isnt a "gasket" and that they just used the grey silicone from the factory. If it were my truck, I would do it. Its a few minutes extra worth of work to ensure you wont have to pull the motor again for a leaking oil pan.

TyCorr

Reaction score
A great number, no. And ill assume you know there isnt a "gasket" and that they just used the grey silicone from the factory. If it were my truck, I would do it. Its a few minutes extra worth of work to ensure you wont have to pull the motor again for a leaking oil pan.

Yea, if its out and you live in the rustbelt its a good idea.

neverkickn

Reaction score
I am we'll aware of what makes the gasket. How many have you seen leak? I am not talking about a leak caused by corrosion either. I mean an otherwise clean, perfectly good oil pan with a leak between the pan and motor,front cover or rear cover.

ghohouston

Reaction score
The company I work for has a fleet of over 400 powerstrokes, about 1/4 of them are 7.3's. Ive seen a few leak. Im not saying that it will ever leak, but I would do it for reassurance.

TyCorr

Reaction score
Another one, albeit one you dont need to pull a motor to do, is a melling m208 low pressure oil pump. Its a good insurance policy against oil issues provided you ensure the condition of your oil pickup tube.