Injector noise questions? Listen and tell me your opinion.

jdeeg4276

Reaction score
Hard start. I'm a mechanic and it's not my first round with this truck. Just installed new glow plugs. Only found two high ohm'ed plugs. Glow plug relay seems ok. Also installed new glow plug harnesses. The thing is the sound progresses louder from start to finish. My 6.0 is consistent sound all the way though.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Atsah

Reaction score
Hard start. I'm a mechanic and it's not my first round with this truck. Just installed new glow plugs. Only found two high ohm'ed plugs. Glow plug relay seems ok. Also installed new glow plug harnesses. The thing is the sound progresses louder from start to finish. My 6.0 is consistent sound all the way though.

I did notice that, battery's all good? FICM is good? Just during cold start or all the time?

Atsah

Reaction score
Maybe oil pressure related.. Does the truck start. If so when it does what does it do, rough idle, smoke.. Is the fuel pressure okay..

jdeeg4276

Reaction score
Maybe oil pressure related.. Does the truck start. If so when it does what does it do, rough idle, smoke.. Is the fuel pressure okay..

Truck starts, gonna change oil filter asap. Then up date.

Mdub707

Reaction score
Every single 4 pin FICM I've had sounds just like that. The 7 pins with older programming however will buzz insanely fast from start to finish and make the trucks run so much smoother and quieter.

Have you tested the voltage on the FICM to verify it's good? It's simple enough. Just because it was replaced, doesn't mean it hasn't failed again, because it will at some point. Repair is the better option vs. replace. It does sound pretty healthy from that clip though. However, I've seen more than a few that read 48V with the key on but drop when you crank or drop when it's running.

jdeeg4276

Reaction score