Optishift/US Shift Trans Controller

JD3020

Reaction score
Anybody ever heard of these?

Overheard somebody talking about this the other day, as they were using it on a car and liked it. I currently have the PCS and US shift tuning software open on my laptop, and they are both

I'm sure the general consensus on here is to go with a PCS as it is the more sophisticated system, but i've only seen a handful of used PCS's sell for under $700, whereas one of these is under $600 new, with the wiring harness. And it seems like i may be able to find a used one for under $500, as they sold in group buys for less than $500. And to be honest i'm only looking for a transmission controller at this point, so i'm not really interested in the other features PCS has to offer.

Here's a link to their site.
http://www.usshift.com/compare.shtml

mandkole

Reaction score
Im no expert, but even though it says 97, its meant for an SD's 4R100. Unless its somehow modded more, not a lot of electronic control in an e4. Best to just run what you can through the pcm. Have you talked to an experienced trans guy?

Mark Kovalsky

Reaction score
Not a lot of electronic control in an E4OD? Only all the shifting, pressure control, and torque converter control are electronically controlled. What else could be added?

JD3020

Reaction score
Im no expert, but even though it says 97, its meant for an SD's 4R100. Unless its somehow modded more, not a lot of electronic control in an e4. Best to just run what you can through the pcm. Have you talked to an experienced trans guy?

An E4 is almost identical to a 4R...

Edit: Tree'd by Mark

mandkole

Reaction score
Come on Mark, throw a brother a bone... lol Yes, for basic operation the E4 has controls. To getting back to JDs question, would you really get the value from a standalone on an E4?

JD3020

Reaction score