Play in steering wheel

hagan525

Reaction score
I recently put on a lift on my 2011f250 after an alignment I am having enough play in my steering wheel to annoy me! My question is what can I do to fix this? Will a steering stabilizer fix this?

Also every once in awhile I get pedal hop when driving down the road what causes this? Is it something that can be fixed or does it have to go to a shop?

Thanks in advance

Dzchey21

Reaction score
did you notice the slop before the lift?

Check and make sure the pitman arm isnt loose on the steering box

no a steering stabilizer wont fix that

what do you mean pedal hop?

hagan525

Reaction score
I just tightened up the nut on the pitman arm I got about 1-1.5 turns out of it! Whys the point I a steering stabilizer?

On the wheel hop when I'm driving every so often I'll feel a vibration in the gas pedal! Thinking it's from the ABS system but I'm no mechanic! My anti traction light comes on often also maybe that has something to do with it!

hagan525

Reaction score
What's the point of a steering stabilizer? I seem to fat finger my phone a lot! Sorry about the confusion

WoodBoy

Reaction score
The point of a steering stabilizer is to reduce kickback ,from bumps, potholes, rocks, etc., through the steering system. It reduces shock and jerking and helps prolong components such as the ball joints also. It does the same thing that your shocks do pretty much

Last edited:

hagan525

Reaction score
Okay so that doesn't sound like something I need! I'm hoping tightening the pitman arm nut helps a ton! If not I'm lost!

hagan525

Reaction score
Well I tightened the nut on the pitman arm and it's great again! Steering wheel is cocked a little bit but I'm thinking another alignment will fix that since the one ford dealership screwed it up the first time! Oh well 80 bucks is better than a few hundred in repairs

superduty4x4

Reaction score