quick exhuast leak question

OSCS

Reaction score
Soooooo when my donor motor was pulled out the up pipe bolts where cut and whomever did so also cut into the damn manifold.. i didnt see it untill after i dropped the motor in :cursing: there is a perfect little rectangle hole on the cone of the manifold that "plugs" into the up pipe. Sooo naturally i have a nasty ass exhuast leak. My question is this, can i just mig weld the hole? im not a professional welder but i know my way around one. I REALLY REALLY dont want to yank it although i do have spares if needed

neverkickn

Reaction score
No. Too much flex there when chit expands. You need to do it right and replace the manifold.

co04cobra

Reaction score
Mike, I am very sorry on that. One of the guys that helps me has probably done that. :fustrate: If I dont watch them all that time this is the **** that happens.

Anyway, a couple options. As small as that hole sounds you could probably weld it and be fine. I do weld on cast sometimes as long as its not steering related. The other thing I have to do pretty often on trucks that have had pyros taken out. Drill the hole out and tap it to a pipe plug or bolt size.

If you do pull the manifold for whatever reason I personally dont use the gaskets when going back together. The gaskets eventually seem to detoriate and blow out. I true the manifold up and the block the best I can and bolt it back up.

I think the first 2 options are you best bets. IMO. Once again I apologize for the hassle.

OSCS

Reaction score
Mike, I am very sorry on that. One of the guys that helps me has probably done that. :fustrate: If I dont watch them all that time this is the **** that happens.

Anyway, a couple options. As small as that hole sounds you could probably weld it and be fine. I do weld on cast sometimes as long as its not steering related. The other thing I have to do pretty often on trucks that have had pyros taken out. Drill the hole out and tap it to a pipe plug or bolt size.