Re gearing

2000wa250

Reaction score
I've been thinking for awhile now about purchasing either a trutrac ls for the rear or an e-locker, not sire which one is better but I think it'd be pretty sweet to have e-locker in the rear and possibly the front as well. However, I am a complete novice when it comes to gears and differentials so im wondering if you guys can give me a quick run through of the basics. Also what are the positives and negatives of 4.10 gears vs 3.73. I rode in mu buddies obs with 35's and 4.10's and love how much faster the acceleration feels compared to my truck.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

Dieselboy.

Reaction score
Faster accel but less top end. Worse mileage.

Personally with a 6spd trans I would stick with 3:73s up to 38s. 37s with an auto.

For the amount of money it will cost you to swap the gears for a minimal difference. Espescially at the power level you are at now.

PowerstrokeJunkie

Reaction score
You will not notice enough of a difference to offset the cost involved in a .4 numerical gear change, from 3.73 to 4.10. Changing gear ratio is not only expensive, but a total bitch to do

2000wa250

Reaction score
Only reason I ask is if I am going have a locker put in the back would it be worth it to change to 4.10s to get a little bit more torque to the wheels.

2000wa250

Reaction score
I have 250/200% with jakes s467 turbo twin hpops and reg return...I should have enough power. Only thing I can think of that would account for why I feel.the truck is sluggish is the rear end gearing.

2000wa250

Reaction score
So why do you say that...I mean other than the cost....is it the higher rpm cruising down the highway? Does it make the six speed go through gears too fast? I just feel like I have no power from a stop...like I have to get moving slowly before I have any power

2000wa250

Reaction score
I have cales tuning. Live tuning will be in may. Still have to install the twin pumps and finish up the fuel system.