What intake is this?! Should I upgrade?

Pbguy420

Reaction score
Ok guys I just bought an 01 7.3l f250, and am new to the diesel and the auto anything world so Ive been loving the help I've gotten from this site.

Tho the previous owner told me there had been no upgrades to this truck I keep finding new stuff. I've added a dp tuner and isspro gauges, and have my 5" turbo back exhaust waiting to be installed.

When installing the gauges I noticed that the firewall plug had already been drilled and the holes where covered with duct tape. I've also found two mounting holes left of the cig lighter, probably for whatever gauge was installed....
I also believe the exhaust is aftermarket but its a bit rusted so I can't tell a manufacturer stamp... (it's cat back and I don't see a muffler, maybe it's combined?) -like I said, I'm new to this. There is also a red indicator light on the dash that doesn't turn on, can't figure out what it's for.

All of that was just frustration that the guy lied to me but here's my question...
Below are pictures of my intake which again he said was stock but I'm sure it's not. I want to know what it is and if I should upgrade it.... Its my daily driver but I'm slowly upgrading for power as I can afford it.

The box has an airaid sticker on it and the filter is k&n. The filter doesn't look as big as others I've seen so I want to know if it should be upgraded.

Also the box it's sitting in routes to the grill (which I'll soon do the DIY upgrade to- cutting an airflow hole). Thing is, the box, which also seats the battery looks like it had a cover at one point, but it's not there now. It seems that eliminates the cold air nature of the intake if it just draws from the engine compartment?! Let me know if you can tell what this system is from the pics and if it's ok or I should upgrade the whole deal rather than just doing the DIY Tymar deal.

I also posted a pic of the red light on dash if anyone has an idea what it could be.