Alternator or battery problem?

loboost

Reaction score
Recently I've found my battery(ies) dead most every morning on my 2006 king ranch 250.

I jump it and it cranks with no issues. At idle I'm reading the alternator voltage ranging from 11.2 to 12.5 volts. At 1500-2000 rpm it pretty much levels out at 13.1 volts.

I'm measuring with a dmm on the post on the real of the alternator. There is a remanufactured decal on the unit so its been replaced at some point in time already. I'm fairly new to diesels and powerstrokes. Are these trucks known to eat alternators? Does this around like a battery problem or alternator?

I know it means nothing butvtge batteries are stamped 1/12. I didn't buy them, they were in the truck when I bought it. Thanks in advance.

I would like to add, that once jumped and running...I can let it idle at high idle up to operating temp and during the course of time it takes to load an sct tune, its dead again.

Last edited:

Lassie

Reaction score
Get both batteries load tested first. A bad cell will kill your your alt's Volt reg too, so your alternator may be bad even if you find a bad battery. Parts stores will load test free.

And IMO, don't drive your truck until your battery problem is fixed. There is a chain of parts low voltage will destroy and it can get expensive....quick.

FICM is first concern...that can take injectors with it.

VanoFord

Reaction score
sounds like you had a bad alternator that killed your batteries. the truck technically could remain running after starting even if you removed the batteries since the Alt powers everything when running. load test batteries, pull the alt and have it tested at the same time. good luck.

sootie

Reaction score
for 300.00 tops new batteries are cheap insurance as the elec circuit on the 6.0's are delicate. batteries are cheaper than injectors, ficm etc.

one of our 6.0's eats an alternator a year and has since new, we just count on it now and always have one in stock LOL

VanoFord