overheating

NEVRNF

Reaction score
I have been running electrics for the last 4 years with decent results until this last weekend. Got stuck in a traffic jam for 20 min. Had truck full of people and the a/c on. Truck got HOT!!!! shut the a/c off after 5 min of idling and temps kept climbing. @ 230* the truck went into high idle and topped out at 242* and stayed there. What sucks was it was only 82* outside and humidity was low.
Is there a way to use the factory Cummins electric clutch and have a manual lock up switch to get more airflow sitting still?
I have tried to fit a V10 clutch but it will not clear the Fluidampner and the GOS conversion clutch is too long and the fan hits the radiator. I know the stock Electric wil clear but how much larger is the 7.3 fan blade compared to the stocker.
Also is there a difference between the 6.0 and 7.3 radiators. I have a 6.0 sitting here and i think i am just going to keep my 7.3 electric setup for the winter so the truck will warm up quicker.

NEVRNF

Reaction score
Yes it is coming to a crossroad. Ditch the fluid dampner to get the cooling system to function.

NEVRNF

Reaction score
Just got a used one yesterday from a friend. What are you guys doing for trans lines into it. THey are 1/2" compared to the 3/8" early line. Who has a quick connect for them?
Now i Just need to find a 6.0 fan blade. Rock auto has them for $60 They have the best price on Hayden fan clutches for the Cummins also.

Last edited:

Deputydog

Reaction score
Just got a used one yesterday from a friend. What are you guys doing for trans lines into it. THey are 1/2" compared to the 3/8" early line. Who has a quick connect for them?
Now i Just need to find a 6.0 fan blade. Rock auto has them for $60 They have the best price on Hayden fan clutches for the Cummins also.

I just went to the local wrecking yard and got a 6.0 fan blade for $5.00

NEVRNF

Reaction score