Go Back   PowerStrokeArmy > Power Strokes > 94-97 Aftermarket

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-20-2019, 10:54 PM
78-79fordman 78-79fordman is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Any thoughts on this it would be open meaning turn the pump on tell it gets 60 or above the way I read . If I set my pressure at 65 which I have on my other truck would this be the pressure at I would the second pump on or off . Not sure this is fuel rated though.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20190520-234245_Chrome.jpg (188.4 KB, 23 views)
  #12  
Old 05-20-2019, 11:27 PM
EPA EPA is online now
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78-79fordman View Post
Anyone got and thoughts on the pressure the switch would need to kick on the pump
Autometer elite gauges have out puts for this type of thing... You set low fuel pressure warning and can have it send an output signal to switch on the 2nd pump... They also look good.

Last edited by EPA; 05-20-2019 at 11:38 PM.
  #13  
Old 05-21-2019, 10:24 PM
78-79fordman 78-79fordman is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Anyone see on that will work on this page starting at page 17 . I figure one around 60 psi that's adjustable.
http://stevenengineering.com/Tech_Su...DFs/77MAIN.pdf
  #14  
Old 05-22-2019, 07:40 AM
kip4234 kip4234 is offline
Corporal
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 72
Default

my thoughts and how I have mine ran. I have two super duty pumps and run both at the same time. I did do separate power sources and fuses just so if one fuse would go or one pump went out and I was driving that nothing would go wrong or go out and I would make it home. I did this for two reasons one being I don't want to break down and the other reason I run two pumps is just for the additional flow.
  #15  
Old 05-23-2019, 08:05 PM
JCart JCart is offline
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia Canada
Posts: 406
Default

A single pump not handle 238/xxx flow? I’ve done a number of DIY e pumps and logged thousands of miles and have used stock 7.3 pump (in fact used ones from wreckers) and a 6.0 pump. Have never let me down. Setting to do two more on current trucks, with stock 7.3 pump and will only use one pump per truck. Injectors aren’t huge so maybe that’s why they’ve lasted so well.

Used to keep a spare pump with me on long trips as they are easily swapped out, much less complicated and you’ll know pretty much if it fails.
j
__________________
'97 F250 ECLB Tan White Tan E4OD, 4:10s, D60, PMF 3.5 RSK, Anti sways front/rear w rear bags 5 blocks (129,000 Kms) DP, intake and 4 exhaust.
Truck pix & Write ups
  #16  
Old 05-23-2019, 09:09 PM
superpsd's Avatar
superpsd superpsd is offline
Major
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: auburn wa
Posts: 1,754
Default

I was going to go that route of a second intermittent pump and I came down to the idea of using a switch on the throttle pedal with an adjustable bracket. The pressure switch may work but it may also cause problems. Under a low pressure situation the pump would kick in. Bump pressure up. Hit the limit then power down and repeat causing unstabe pressure pulsations. I was going to use a small PLC and add in time delays etc but scrapped the idea as it was too complicated. The throttle activated is best in ky oopinion throttle demand say set for 70% and above pump kicks in and then back out of pedal pump off. Simple design and would work. A single SD pump will support 238CC injectors btw.
__________________
97-250 7.3 Eaton TVS Supercharged, S369sxe, R&D IDI performance T4 mount, my B350/200s, Honey Badger SR with My tunes, BMW M3 seats, Sky 5" RSK skyjacker drop pivot brackets, Sky shackles and hangers, Toyo M/T

1948 GMC Detroit 453T
1951 Mack A51T
1916 Federal 1 1/2T
  #17  
Old 05-23-2019, 09:36 PM
78-79fordman 78-79fordman is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superpsd View Post
I was going to go that route of a second intermittent pump and I came down to the idea of using a switch on the throttle pedal with an adjustable bracket. The pressure switch may work but it may also cause problems. Under a low pressure situation the pump would kick in. Bump pressure up. Hit the limit then power down and repeat causing unstabe pressure pulsations. I was going to use a small PLC and add in time delays etc but scrapped the idea as it was too complicated. The throttle activated is best in ky oopinion throttle demand say set for 70% and above pump kicks in and then back out of pedal pump off. Simple design and would work. A single SD pump will support 238CC injectors btw.
Interesting switch setup any pics .
  #18  
Old 05-23-2019, 10:13 PM
EPA EPA is online now
Sergeant
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 186
Default

Same thing could be accomplished with a boost switch... Say you're fuel pressure drops off at 35psi... Once the boost switch/sensor reads 35psi pump comes on until you drop under 35... I had this set up on my talon.. Dual walbro 450 pumps... 2nd would kick on at 45 psi of boost... I later removed that switch setup and let my boost gauge send the output signal to the 2nd pump... Made it easy to adjust what psi i wanted it to kick on at.
  #19  
Old 05-23-2019, 10:17 PM
78-79fordman 78-79fordman is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPA View Post
Same thing could be accomplished with a boost switch... Say you're fuel pressure drops off at 35psi... Once the boost switch/sensor reads 35psi pump comes on until you drop under 35... I had this set up on my talon.. Dual walbro 450 pumps... 2nd would kick on at 45 psi of boost... I later removed that switch setup and let my boost gauge send the output signal to the 2nd pump... Made it easy to adjust what psi i wanted it to kick on at.
I do like the elite gauges it's a great option and I like the in the cab adjustability. The boost gauge could be better then the fuel pressure gauge as said above I worry about it on and off from the fuel pressure switching.

Last edited by 78-79fordman; 05-23-2019 at 10:19 PM.
  #20  
Old 05-23-2019, 10:44 PM
78-79fordman 78-79fordman is offline
Private
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Ya on another forum a good idea was to install a light on the secondary pump relay so it would come on when it was on . Which is a great idea . It would also tell u if the secondary was running full time .
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Designed by Military Ltd