2015 Ultimate Lariat - New to Diesels with Lots of Questions

c63 AMG

Reaction score
Just like the title says - complete newbie to diesels but trying to figure it out. Last turbo car was an EVO X and currently have a C63 which brings me to my first question.

1. Brakes - after driving the C63 the truck breaks suck. I don't expect sport car performance but they seem inadequate. Will just pads improve performance or do I need larger calipers and new rotors?

2. Exhaust - What's the difference or reason for going for a 5" downpipe exhaust over 4"? From what I gathered the downpipe is 4" so it seems to me 4" would perform better. Is a straight through exhaust that much louder than with a muffler under normal driving? What about exhaust fumes do they get in the cabin? I have two small kids and they are my concern with fumes.

4. Tune - Is SCT X4 the go to tuner? Can I monitor EGT's with this tuner or do I need another device? If that's not the "go to tuner" what is?

5. Tunes - PIP seems to be the most popular is that correct? I would like to have a "stock" tune then the performance tunes if possible.

6. EGR - When you do a DPF delete and tune is a EGR block/delete mandatory? Honestly I don't even know what it does seems like it reroutes the exhaust?

7. Intake - No Limit 6.7 Stage 2 is clearly the #1 choice on this forum.

8. Suspension - Have the FX4 and it rides like crap. Bilsteins 5100 seem like a good option along with Pro Comp single or dual steering stabilizer. Am I on the right track here?

My priorities for this truck are reliability/safety then performance. Just to make sure I have my basis covered for performance the basics seem to be: downpipe back exhaust, intake, EGR block (don't want to delete) and tune. Am I missing anything?

No plans for lift because I have to get my kids in and out they are only two. Think thats all for now and yes I have been searching these things just easier for me to keep track if it's all in one thread.

Thanks!

Last edited: