7.3 tow tunes

Denver

Reaction score
Whos tow tunes are you guys running and how do you like them? How is the shifting? Hard shifts or are they smooth shifts? I'm behind on this 7.3 tuning thing but after hauling a 12K trailer I'm going to be ordering tunes. I have a JW tow master trans but I don't want to have shifts that will give whiplash every shift.

Denver

Reaction score
Bumping this up. I've ran 2 tow tunes from 2 vendors and both were undrivable. One shifted to hard and the other one ran way to hot and sounded awful when I rolled into the throttle. The trailer I am towing is a 5th wheel toybox ranging from 12-15K lbs. I also have 95* weather and 6-7% grades and sometimes 30 mph head winds.

Last edited:

Homesteader

Reaction score
Bumping this up. I've ran 2 tow tunes from 2 vendors and both were undrivable. One shifted to hard and the other one ran way to hot and sounded awful when I rolled into the throttle. The trailer I am towing is a 5th wheel toybox ranging from 12-15K lbs. I also have 95* weather and 6-7% grades and sometimes 30 mph head winds.

Which 2 have you run? Pm me if you dont want to mention it on here.

DEEZUZ

NO PUKESTERS
Reaction score
Beans.... Tiny puff of black on a decent excel, yet the trans shifts great!

JDub

Reaction score
There is only so much you can do with the transmission stragies in the SCT software, so it may be tough to get it dialed in perfectly. A multi-position chip may offer better control in the tuning allowing a better end result. We work very closely with John Wood and have Live Tuned quite a few trucks running his Towmaster trans. Let us know if we can help...

TyCorr

Reaction score
My tunes in my 65hp tow tune are great. The.shifts happen a little later but the.convertor.stays.locked most of.the time. I towed in my 100hp perf tune and it was.pretty awesome.

Denver

Reaction score