arp torque questions

swamp_ratt

New member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
1,506
Reaction score
0
Location
hudson, wi
What is the proper way to torque arp head studs on these? I have the factory 6.0 torque specs and arp says to torque to 210 lb/ft. Any insight appreciated
 

jdgleason

Active member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
7,993
Reaction score
0
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Go up in stages. 70 ft lbs, go through all of them in the sequence, then 140 ft lbs, again in sequence, and then to 210. Ill get a picture of the sequence
 

jdgleason

Active member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
7,993
Reaction score
0
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Go up in stages. 70 ft lbs, go through all of them in the sequence, then 140 ft lbs, again in sequence, and then to 210. Ill get a picture of the sequence
Well, here ya go just incase lol
Head20Torque20Sequence.png
 

swamp_ratt

New member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
1,506
Reaction score
0
Location
hudson, wi
I made shure to print off the whole tech guide for the 6.0. 100 some odd pages. That one shows a little bit different sequence but i like yours more
 

DEEZUZ

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,609
Reaction score
99
Location
NWI
Yeap! Like said, 3 EQUAL steps ending @ 210. Dont forget the compound mouth breather!!!
 

DEEZUZ

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,609
Reaction score
99
Location
NWI
I believe thats safe. IIRC I read somewhere someone torqued them up to 305 right when a stud snapped.... Definately read into it first before going over spec!
 

swamp_ratt

New member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
1,506
Reaction score
0
Location
hudson, wi
I torqued em to 210. Got it all together and took it for a drive, turbo vane stuck open (so the owner tells me thats been an ongoing issue and i just had the turbo off) so no power, got 1/4 mile and it just died. Started it back up and popping out the air intake something fierce. Gotta tear it all back apart and check the pushrods and rockers
 

Latest posts

Members online

Top