Beating the dead horse on Trans questions

Fastlane17

Reaction score
Hello! Name is Lane, AirForce stationed in Florida and im new to the Power stroke, Ford life. Just got rid of my 24v cummins, and i've wanted a 6.4 for awhile. Found a good deal on one, will be picking it up next week.

but i have a transmission question...

part of build list: light motor build, studs, fuel system, s371, gear head tune, 3.73, 305/50/20 nitto 420s.

at WOT in 20-30 the trans almost slips, hunts for a gear, then starts to pull... 40+ and dead stop launches are fine.. any ideas? been reading al ot about solenoid swaps.. curious if that would be a temp cure?

also truck is around 650ish.. stock trans.. what should i start looking into for trans mods/ build specs? just a converter, clutches, output shaft? not looking for anything crazy... 800rwhp ish.. also located 10 minutes from suncoast but have heard mixed opinions.

Thank You!

Powerstroke Man 6.4

Reaction score
Welcome

Midwest diesel,Rudys diesel ,Warren diesel,Twisted diesel

All build awesome transmissions.

I would call around/ look on their websites to see which one will fit your HP goal.

Last edited:

Fastlane17

Reaction score
Awesome, recommend anything specifically?.. like stated it wont be getting any extra fuel for about a year or so just curious as to what i should be looking for.
Thank You!

Powerstroke Man 6.4

Reaction score
Awesome, recommend anything specifically?.. like stated it wont be getting any extra fuel for about a year or so just curious as to what i should be looking for.
Thank You!

I got a Billet S366 on stock trans and GH tunes how you like the 371?

On the trans someone more knowledge then me will chime in soon.

I do have a friend that purchased a Rudys stage 3 built for 700-800 HP IIRC.

Billet input shaft ,billet low reverse hub and RDP TC.

Shifts awesome customer service is awesome.

Fastlane17

Reaction score