Coils or leafs on front axle for drag racing?

JoeDaddy

Reaction score
Sorry, it would be a simple 2 link but what Im looking for is pros or cons of one v the other. Weight aside.

Spatel23

Reaction score
assuming its 4wd I would guess coils because the front leafs would want to wrap at launch.

Im no expert, just what I would assume.

Dzchey21

Reaction score
Weight is a big deal and leafs would not help that plus like Shone mentioned wrap would also need to be controlled so you would need too add some more weight to control it.

JoeDaddy

Reaction score
That's seems logical. It is 4wd and will be solid mount with little travel, maybe 6-8" with very little ramp flex, 4-6".

SouthFlstrokin'

Reaction score
Pros of coil system.

Weight

Different spring rates

Lower ride height

More adjustability

Need I go on?

Layson

Reaction score
Leaf springs are real simple to and hard to mess up. Still ride good with a good set of shocks. It is very simple to just twist some adjustment screws on a set of shocks to change overall driving characteristics.

Coil springs you have to either change out your old axle for a newer one or make some mounts on the axle and some buckets for the springs, probably a newer steering box. Then you have to fabricate your setup whatever you are going to run, 4-link 3-link. If it is a dedicated dragster than you don't really have to worry about how the the truck behaves out in the real world. If you do than it will be alot more challenging than a leaf spring setup and far more expensive.

It is real hard to mess up a leaf spring setup, just my opinion.

JoeDaddy

Reaction score
What about handling at the big end. I'm aiming for 120+ trap speeds. When the nose goes down how badly will the truck react to the track bar shift? I'm planning on lengthening the bar for less shift but "gas on" to " brake on" is a bad time to get a sideways hift at 120 mph.... No?

Have any of you noticed this on your trucks?

Last edited:

JoeDaddy

Reaction score