fuel leak

96OBS

Reaction score
Sorry again for another post, I'm sure y'all are tired of me, but I've got a fuel leak... the other day I changed my filter and spilled a little diesel in the valley so I looked and seen it and dried it all out with ether. Well I seen more fuel in the valley today, so I went to car was and sprayed it all down with decreased and came ho.e and looked and dried it all out with ether and started it and loomed for bout 20 minutes and didn't see a drip. Well I went out and came back and looked and I seen a small puddle again. The puddle is directly under the big bolt on the fuel pump, but the pump itself is dry. I looked behind the fuel bowl and it looks wet, so I'm guessing the bowl is leaking somewhere and running down. So my question is how hard is it to reseal a fuel bowl? This is my first 7.3 and I'm 16 so I'm no pro mechanic but I will have my dad to help me. Is the best reseal kit the one from diesel o'rings for $1250? And do I need to replace anything else while I'm in there? I hate leaks and just can't stand it....

greenthunder7.3

Reaction score
by fuel bowl do you mean the filter base. i believe there is a weep hole in the fuel lift pump in the front that will leak fuel if the pump is bad. could also be a rubber line that runs from the bottom of the filter base to the pump that is leaking. i hope you mean $12.50 for the price. lol other wise that is some serous cash for a reseal kit.

96OBS

Reaction score
Ya sorry I forgot the decimal. Lol. And ya the filter housing. How can a tel if it the weep hole or the pump going bad?

JD3020

Reaction score
If the pump is leaking, the fuel shouldn't be able to get to the front of the valley. I lost a fuel pump last year, shortly after i lost a high pressure return line and dumped 4-5 gallons of fuel onto my engine in a short amount of time, so the valley was a mess. But when the fuel pump went it was just dumping fuel down the back of the block.