Injector swap

Short Bus

Reaction score
Ive got an 03 that needs new injectors, anything in particular I need to know or is it pretty straight forward? I've swapped a ton of 7.3 stuff but I'm new to the 6 oh no's and a little leary of this project.

stroker2

Reaction score
My dad replaced the ones on his 03. The injectors take longer to get to than a 7.3 but i believe it was basically the same process. I do think he had ro remove some sort of oil rail or something under the valve cover though. I may be mistaken though

genuineford

Reaction score
Pull the valve covers, pull oil rails, remove injectors, re-install injectors. It is pretty straight forward.

You have to take some stuff off to get to the valve covers but it isn't bad.

genuineford

Reaction score
You don't have to pull the oil rails all the way off you can just move them out of the way with the flex hose.

Derek@Vision Diesel

Reaction score
Its very straight forward... If youve done a 7.3 before youll figure it out quick.

I dont have any pointers, but im not mechanic and did it just fine after doing lots of 7.3 stuff

03-Blue-Powerstroke

Reaction score
Be sure to clean all of the oil out of the injector hold-down holes before you torque the injectors. Use some Q-tips. The hardest part for me is getting the injector wire connectors out of the head.

a2elvis

Reaction score
Make sure the injector bore is clean, lube the orings on the injectors before installation.

Short Bus

Reaction score
Man this is a biotch, I have never seen such a cluster fock like this before. I think my TT 7.3 was easier to swap injectors in than this damn 6 liter.

Derek@Vision Diesel

Reaction score
Man this is a biotch, I have never seen such a cluster fock like this before. I think my TT 7.3 was easier to swap injectors in than this damn 6 liter.