IPR DC%??

superstroker99

Reaction score
My truck is dropping pressure on the HPOP side. Makes about 2400psi at 60% then begans to loose PSI as rpms continue. Im sure my pump is being for about all its worth. My miss understanding is why my DC is stopping at 60% why wont it ramp just that little more out say 80-85%??

ken6881

Reaction score
What is he commanding as far as Icp goes? And yeah you should be able to get more duty cycle.

MossBack

Reaction score
Ever wonder how the backing plate pops off the back and breaks the snap ring ?

Well dead heading any hydraulic pump will cause a failure. So if the ipr completely blocked it off and had no flow you will be replacing pumps.

JD3020

Reaction score
Ever wonder how the backing plate pops off the back and breaks the snap ring ?

Well dead heading any hydraulic pump will cause a failure. So if the ipr completely blocked it off and had no flow you will be replacing pumps.

I'm far from a hydraulics expert, but that idea doesn't seem to apply here. The injectors are using more oil than the HPOP can put out, as shown by the high DC and falling ICP. Its not like your shutting off all the flow, you could probably completely block off the IPR on this truck at heavy throttle and still not maintain ICP.

FWIW on my 2's with Matt's tunes i'd see 80+% DC, but honestly after about 60-65% ICP didn't seem to do much, usually dropped to 1400psi. :fustrate: But i've been told the IPR is pretty much close around 60%.

MossBack

Reaction score
What I was trying to explain is that while tuning plays a huge part in the role of ipr dc% and icp output. The hydraulic ( mechanical ) aspect is that the pump won't put out anymore icp at XX% vs 100% and the fact that the pump mechanically is limited to its output. So it won't do more if demanded 100% then 60-80.