Transmission Temp??

mclarengts

Reaction score
Im about to do some towing in the near future. My question is what should my tranny temps look like? whats normal, and whats high trans temps when towing?

cfdeng7

Reaction score
How much weight are we talking here? My trans temps don't seem to move with less than 7k behind the truck. Same with my old 7.3. I don't worry about trans temps till about 210 then I start slowing down

dietoremain

Reaction score
You're completely fine up to 220°F. You can go as high as 250°F for no more than 1/2 hour at a time.

I have no doubt in your knowledge, but regardless fluid starts breaking down at those temps and I personally wouldn't drive with those temps.

My truck has a trucool in line with the stock cooler and never sees over 170* I am very happy with that. Normal while towing in mild temps(stock cooler) should be around 170-180 range I'd say.

Justin@DP-Tuner

Reaction score
Tranny fluid will actually hold its consistency at higher heat for quite some time. I would say at about 215*F you should start to take caution. Even at that heat you would be okay for quite a while. If I'm not mistaken break down of trans fluid is cumulative and you would probably get 25,000 miles out of your trans fluid at that heat. There are charts online that you can look up as far as the break down of fluid vs. mileage goes.

dmd

Reaction score
80 to 100° above ambient temperature is what I saw. That always caused problems when towing in Texas summer heat. Now with my BTS transmission and the 6 L cooler I rarely see over 150° no matter the ambient temperature.

Mark Kovalsky

Reaction score
I have no doubt in your knowledge, but regardless fluid starts breaking down at those temps and I personally wouldn't drive with those temps.
Yes, it did in the 60's. Fluid has been greatly improved since then. It doesn't start breaking down until it's over 300°F.