Degas bottle empty but hasn't puked

riemer

Reaction score
I've been running IDP's extreme street for 7 months with out a problem. I recently added a dieselsite coolant filter and have now my degas bottle has been emptied 2 times. The first time I figured it was due to adding the coolant filter but now it's empty again. I changed the oil last weekend and there was no water in it. Anyone have any ideas?

78f100

Reaction score
Pressure test the cooling system, I had a heater hose leaking a tiny bit when I bought my truck. Never could see it when I drove it, I had to put 20psi on it before it showed up. If you still have egr coolers one may be leaking.

riemer

Reaction score
The first time it emptied i wrote it off due to the addition of the filter.
I only have 1200 miles on since I put on the filter and the new degas cap, according to instructions you change the filter at 3k miles (I think). I can not see any leaks and I do still have the egr coolers on the truck.

I will try a pressure test this week. I can rent a tester at any auto parts right?

78f100

Reaction score
I think advance auto has one for rent, I got a decent one at Harbor Freight it will do just about any style cooling system. I would put pressure on it and leave it for a while, parked on concrete. You should find it, if it smokes white after you pressure test it its a egr cooler leaking.

08BIGRIG

Reaction score
I am willing to bet that you have a leak on the filter housing by the spare port. The fittings on these seem to leak A LOT. Watch for small spots on the driveway or parking spots.

bts

Reaction score
Mine did the same. Clamps were junk, would't close enough around the hoses. Replaced them and added a lot of sealant tape to the bypass port and no more leaks. Took a hell of a long time to find the leaks!!

08BIGRIG

Reaction score