Good all around shop welder suggestions

4.0l sahara

Reaction score
I like my Lincoln power mig 216. I would have bought something with digital control but this was a deal i couldn't turn down.

ja_cain

Reaction score
Find a good used Miller xmt 304 cc/cv model with a spool gun/controller for aluminum and you can weld everything. It will do dc gtaw, gmaw and smaw. Just need a a tig torch with the gas valve on it to do scratch start tig. Plus, it's an inverter so it comes in a decent size package. I see them all the time on CL for way less than what they go for new. Here is an example of one in VA that comes with spoolgun, wc-24 controller and tig torch for 1500.

http://norfolk.craigslist.org/tls/4468874458.html

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Arconalloy

Reaction score
Check out the new miller multimatic I bought one a while back and for occasional fab work in the garage you can't go wrong it's a multiprocess machine. I weld for a living in the aerospace industry and have used many machines. For the garage the multimatic was my choice

ja_cain

Reaction score
The Miller Multimatics are cool but just not enough balls for thicker aluminum (running a spool gun). That's why I like the xmt due to its higher output rating and better duty cycle. I see these all the time for dirt cheap on CL. Just have to make sure it is a cc/cv model as cv is required for mig operation.

legalhair

Reaction score
Hello. I am getting a welding machine. which one do you guys suggest? I want to be able to do bodywork as well as welding on bag brackets and stuff. I just need to know what size and brand to get. thanks a lot

Last edited:

Tiha

Super Moderator
Super Mod
Reaction score
Hello. I am getting a welding machine. which one do you guys suggest? I want to be able to do bodywork as well as welding on bag brackets and stuff. I just need to know what size and brand to get. thanks a lot
Are you wanting to do Steel only? Aluminum as well? Stainless?