High EGT's under hard acceleration

KPSquared

Reaction score
I have just recently got my truck back together and running well. The only issue I seem to have now is if I get on the throttle hard, my EGT's climb like a rocket until I let off. I could bury my gauge past the 1500 mark if I didn't let off.

I'm pretty new to all of this stuff, but I was under the impression that if everything is running right, it shouldn't do that. I was trying to see what my HPOP was putting out so I was trying to do some 80 - 140 km/h runs and I can't. It starts to get WAY to hot before I get anywhere close to speed. So, this is within 20 seconds under WOT.

2001 7.3, Cass Stage one singles, DP F6 with 80 Economy, 3.5/4" Magnaflow, 6637.

I just changed the up-pipe gaskets because they were leaking thinking that would solve the problem. It did help, but still not good.

I have heard that DP's tunes run a little hotter, but I didn't think it would be quite like this.

Anyone?

KPSquared

Reaction score
Stock turbo. With that 80 Economy tune under WOT, I'm peaking at about 24 psi. maybe 22.

I think I may have a leaky IC boot. I'm gonna check that next. Will that cause the EGT's to spike like that?

CSIPSD

Reaction score
Stage 1's are only 160cc, just a slight bump from stock, you should not be having a huge jump.

I would also expect to see 28-30psi at WOT with stage 1's and a stock turbo.

Check your wastegate, tighten it a few turns. Also, as you mentioned, check all your IC boots and also the Y pipe boots, very common to have boost leaks at the intake manifolds.

KPSquared

Reaction score
I'll get my pressure tester built and see what's up. Won't this truck de-fuel at 28 or 30 psi? I don't have a boost fooler. Or do the tunes compensate for that?

I don't remember the numbers, but the HPOP is working good.