EGT getting up there fast? Problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pbguy420

Reaction score
I'm new to the diesel world, as well as auto upgrading. Just bought an 01 f250 7.3l. So far I've dropped on a dp f6 tuner, isspro gauges and have 5 inch turbo back exhaust waiting to go on....

My I know you don't want to go over 1200 for more than a few seconds... But I don't know how long it should take me to get there...

When I gun it off the line I get to about 1200 deg by the time I hit about 50mph and I back off. Is this normal, or should it take longer to get there? I'm in my 120 hp race tune when this happens....

Do I have a problem or is this normal for my minimal upgrades?
If it is normal what are my options for helping lower these temps? Let's start with any mods I can do cheaply before I go dropping big bucks on stuff ( still need to buy tires!)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

psdguy95

Reaction score
I woukd think that would be normal. You are getting on it. Mine will get up to 900 when going from 35 to 70 when I get on it.

AllanB

Reaction score
It is normal when you have it to the floor. My 6.0 has 190's in it, Mine will go way past 900 degrees I matt it to the floor. To my understanding, it will not hurt anything just running it through a 1/8 mile or even 1/4 mile liie this. You just don't want to run it for a long period of time, lioke towing with it this hot. I took them at their word and tried it. So far I haven't hurt anything. I think you will be ok. You might want to try an aftermarket intercooler when you can.

Arisley

Reaction score
For you truck an aftrmarket intercooler is just a waste of money. You are fine. Mine will hit 1600º in a race. It don't take long to get there either. It comes back down very fast when you let your foot out though.

KPSquared

Reaction score
do some data logging on your hpop performance. i bet it's weak. Weak hpop plus Jody's tunes equals high egt's.